Preface

Screen Shot 2014-01-17 at 10.46.52 PM

 

Our secrets are helium balloons. Hold on to them, they stay intact. Let go of them, they emerge into space, and if you are one of those whose luck turns on them, your helium balloons would probably become in peoples’ mouths, laughing as they divulge them.

I am one that holds a lot of secrets. I try, with all my power, to hang onto my balloons. But it gets harder when your they are propelling upwards, slipping slowly out of your grip. It is harder when emotions kick in. It gets harder when you feel like a stranger to yourself, to your family, to your friends. You split apart. You start living double, or even multiple, lives. Nothing turns out as planned. You become depleted. Thoughts become dispersed, and the mind, in attempt to keep pace with the perpetuated lies, drains your energy.

Perhaps one of my heaviest balloons is my homosexuality. It is the one that I try hardest keeping to myself, for the atmosphere of Lebanon cannot stand such a balloon. I carry it behind my back, everywhere I go, with everyone I meet, hoping to be spared the judgement.
However, I have never struggled with my sexuality. I’ve accepted it from day one. It’s concealment was the struggle. Coming out is desirable. I wouldn’t have to be so secretive. I wouldn’t have to lie to my parents or friends. I wouldn’t have to keep to myself all that I want to say. If only. On the other hand, outing myself would probably get me expelled, jobless, and of coarse publicly humiliated. My parents would be publicly humiliated, and I love my parents too much to let that happen. Somehow the word “gay” doesn’t have the capacity to fit in Lebanese people’s narrow minds. But will I always hold on to this heavy helium balloon? Will I ever have a partner, a boyfriend who I can freely love? When will that day come? These are the thoughts that conflict me, pushing me to let go and give in.

But that is not all.

My hands are hurting. The ribbons are sliding.

16 thoughts on “Preface

  1. A lot of people are holding onto their balloons. So you’re not the only one. It is hard if not impossible to be yourself in a society that regressive and narrow minded. But whatever i say will not change the way reality is. So my advice to you is to keep holding these balloons untill you feel comfortable letting them go, and then my friend no society no matter how tough or big can ever stand in your way.we’re here to let it out and share our secrets behind false names in an alternative reality. I don’t know when will this masquerade be finally over but all i know for the moment is that you should blog your thoughts away. It is an amazing post you have written and i’ll be looking forward for more.

    Like

    • First of all, let me say that I’m totally freaking out that you commented on my post. I am such a huge fan of your blog! I was actually inspired to start blogging after reading your blog and several others!
      I know that nothing is going to change (our society hasn’t budged since 769 B.C). But i needed this outlet to get it all out of my system!
      Anyway, thank you for your lovely comment and stay posted : ) i usually post on Saturdays or Sundays if i have time : )

      Like

  2. A very honest observation, my blogging brother. All of us, regardless of our sexuality, tend to hold onto our secrets. It must be a trait that is common to all of humanity. I really like the representation of our secrets as helium balloons. It’s something everyone probably understands. Great job! Much love and naked hugs! 🙂

    Like

  3. I like your preface. though it looks like a new born welcome page. maybe changing the colours is a cooler idea.
    However, good idea, awaiting ur next post 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: One Year of Helium Balloons | Helium Balloons by Adam Younes

Leave a comment